Get Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes for Colorado with Minimum Requirements
We have compiled some useful information about driving in the Rocky Mountain state that we think you will find helpful.
Minimum Liability Requirements in Colorado If you want to drive legally in Colorado, you will be required to comply with the states minimum liability coverage limits of:
- Bodily Injury or BI – $25,000 per person, $50,000 total per claim
- Property Damage or PD – $15,000 per claim
Fault Law in Colorado – Modified Comparative In the state of Colorado, when determining fault, the state uses Modified Comparative liability to determine fault or negligence. For states with a modified comparative negligence law, a person may not collect damages from another person if they are determined to be more than 50% at fault for an accident. There are currently 21 states that follow the modified comparative law.
Uninsured Motorists in Colorado According to the Insurance Research Council, 15% of drivers in Colorado are uninsured. Although UM or Uninsured Motorist coverage is not a legal requirement in the state, with almost 2 out of every 10 drivers on the road without coverage, UM is a coverage you might want to consider to protect you, your family and your property.
Auto Insurance Discounts in Colorado
Be sure to ask about discounts that may be available to you in Colorado, there are many that can help you save up to 30% or more on your premium.
Best Place to get Inexpensive car insurance quotes in Colorado
- State Capital: Denver
- Population: 5.18 million
- Number of Drivers: 2.975 million
- The world's largest natural hot springs is located in Glenwood Springs, CO
- Colorado contains 75% of land mass in the U.S. that is over 10,000 feet in elevation
As we get licensed in additional states, we will be adding state-specific pages to our site to help our customers better understand coverage requirements as well as how to find the combination of the lowest rates, best coverage and service.